A Better Mother: Let them be little

I can remember when you fit in the palm of my hand
Felt so good in it, no bigger than a minute
How it amazes me, you’re changing with every blink
Faster than a flower blooms they grow up all too soon
So let them be little ’cause they’re only that way for a while
Give them hope, give them praise, give them love every day
Let them cry, let them giggle, let them sleep in the middle
Oh just let them be little

I’ve never felt so much in one little tender touch
I live for those kisses, prayers and your wishes
Now that you’re teaching me things only a child can see
Every night while we’re on our knees all I ask is please
Let them be little ’cause they’re only that way for a while
Give them hope, give them praise, give them love every day
Let them cry, let them giggle, let them sleep in the middle
Oh just let them be littleSo innocent, a precious soul, you turn around
It’s time to let them go

So let them be little ’cause they’re only that way for a while
Give them hope, give them praise, give them love every day
Let them cry, let them giggle, let them sleep in the middle
Oh just let them be little

Let them be little

I think this song, the saying, they say it all. So why it is so hard for us as parents to allow this to happen. I know my reasons. I’m scared for them not to have rules, to not hear “no,” to be those kids. But I also know that a “yes” can light up a little face. I know that a mess can make memories. I know that it won’t kill me to let them be little. I’m working on this. I’m working on thinking before I say no. I’m working on letting them be little.

 

IMG_0099.JPG

IMG_1130.JPG

IMG_1128.JPG

 

Would you like to keep up with the rest of the 31 posts, every post will be linked here for your convenience.

4 thoughts on “A Better Mother: Let them be little

  1. These is really sweet – I don’t have kids but I have nieces and a nephew and I can see the importance of these words – children are so precious. Thank you!

  2. Thank you for posting this. I am always struggling with this very thing- saying yes more frequently, letting go of perfection, not being a cranky stick in the mud myself. Thank you for the daily reminder!

  3. I love this song – it always seems to bring a tear to my eye because I fear that I don’t let them be little enough. Maybe this weekend I’ll make a special effort to do things just like they want to. Thank you for reminding me that they grown up too fast, so let’s cherish the days that they are little.

Leave a Reply

